More Ramblings

I have had a brown bear literally join me in a hole while I was fishing for sockeye salmon…I think the bear was more interested in the salmon I never caught because as soon as the bear joined me I backed out of the hole and hiked quickly to my camp… it was too close for comfort and I had no desire to be a part of the bear’s habituation process. I was purely lucky and thought a lot, on my feet, back then…that was up in Katmai National Park in 1976, early summer.

I really had a difficult time seeing male Painted Buntings but one mid morning I was hiking off of the boardwalk trail at Florida’s Corkscrew Swamp when I saw 5 brightly colored males at a feeder behind the staff cabin. Nevertheless I was quite satisfied to spy such a hard bird to observe, at leastfor me, under such easy circumstances.

I was birdwatching on a trail near Key Largo and the Alligator National Wildlife Refuge in Florida when I noticed that this wild spot was actually a grown over subdivision…I saw the same kind of artifact several years later in Potomac Overlook Regional Park in Arlington, Virginia. Whitail Deer and Woodthrush took the place of fido and army men toys in the mud;a circumstance I found intriguing…even more extreme I awaited a wolf pack return (their fresh tracks and scat were all over) at an, old not used Tsim Tsam Big House along the coast of Northern British Columbia…the wolves did not return, as far as I could tell.
Matt

Leave a Reply

