Variation To Tell Wild Mammals Apart

I have seen much variation in the color, shape and size of black bears, brown bears, orcas and wolves. In polar bears I used size, scars and wounds and sometimes ears to tell bears apart. With cats-spots or manes and scars or wounds work, contacts tell me.

Give me some other ways to tell animals apart? I am well aware that behaviour works but my experiance in the wild is with North American Bears, so sometimes I minimize behaviour as a tool to identify mammals…what other ways do you tell animals apart? I have a pretty easy time (thats relative) telling non-carnivorous North American male animals apart.

I found these to be interesting questions in my extensive observation of birds and in college courses I took.
Matt

Leave a Reply

