Another Hiker Is Killed By A Grizzly In Yellowstone National Park

All these years I can claim “luck of the Irish” when it comes to mauling or death by a grizzly bear.

Now is not the time to play armchair hiker to th man who was just killed by a grizzly in Yellowstone National Park along the Mary’s Mountain trail…Just an add-on-over the years I have broken the rules, every one of them, for bear country ettiqutte.

I wouuld never hike a trail like Mary’s Mountain Trail, one of many trails, alone. I always carried bear spray, since the day it was available. I used submissevness whenever I ran into a grizzly. I never did anything to excite a grizzly…I tried real hard to avoid a grizzly; more so as I got older and more experianced with grizzlies.

It sounds like this hiker broke some bear country ettiquette rules and the hiker was in the wrong place at the wrong time on a known grizzly bear thoroughfare.
Matt

Leave a Reply

