I Have Seen This Rare Owl Hunt For Mice Nearby

In a recent issue of the Bozeman Chronicle in a special section called Outdoors there was an article about the Great Grey Owl from the LittleBelt Mountains…

What occured to me was that I never had to travel that far to see that rare bird….

Even though I frequently saw this bird in Yellowstone National Park and my most interesting citing of this bird was at Ibex Guard Station in the Crazy Mountains some of my favorite citings of this owl were in the Bridger Mountains within 20 miles of where I lived.

This owl seemed curious and would sit there and watch as I moved, often under the bird, to watch it…I also remember the large owl silently flying from its perch to hunt microtine mice as I observed the owl hunt in silence completely focused on its prey.
Matt

One Response to “I Have Seen This Rare Owl Hunt For Mice Nearby”

  1. d matthews Says:

    I used to see great grey owls while cross country skiing in union valley, they have incredible eyes

Leave a Reply

