More Iconic Bird Observations

I watched at close range a Great Gray Owl watch us (my camping family). At one point the owl roosted on the camper of my Datsun pickup. This was at the Porcupine Guard station in the Crazy Mountains of Southwest Montana in the early nineteen eighties.

In the mid nineteen eighties I had a Hawk Owl follow me closely in Alaska’s Copper River Delta. This lasted for about 30 minutes.

In the mid nineteen seventies I was awaken by a Pygmy Owl 3 feet away hunting a forest vole at my feet. This was in Cub Creek in Wstern, Montana.

I watched 5 male Painted Buntings feed side by side at a staff feeder at Corkscrew Swamp in Southern, Florida.

Last weekend, near Ekalaka, Montana and near North Dakota, I watched 1000 plus Sandhill Cranes land noisily in a field suited for Pronghorn Antelope.
Matt

Leave a Reply

